Bronxville Union Free School District

Eight Seniors Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Eight Bronxville High School seniors who have shown outstanding academic talent have qualified as semifinalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship competition.

Samuel Arcano, Joseph Dougherty, Audrey Kim, Brian Kradjel, Margaret McKelvy, Ethan Reich, James Swartz and Charles Vorbach are among 16,000 high school students nationwide who were awarded the distinction by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. They represent the top 1 percent of students from across the country with the highest scores on the qualifying Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Bronxville’s eight semifinalists took the qualifying test in 2015 along with 1.5 million other juniors, and are in the running for approximately 7,400 scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

In addition, 10 BHS students, who are among 34,000 Commended Students nationwide, were recognized by the NMSC for their performance on the qualifying test. They are Ellie Briskin, Evan Downs, Michael Landy, Remi Laurence, Thomas Maldonado, Sean Mooney, Andrew Murray, Hanford Neild, Kaitlin Ryan and William Vranka.

National Merit Scholarship finalists will be announced in February, while scholarship winners will be announced in the spring.