Bronxville News

BHS Students
Bronxville, NY

Having conducted extensive historical research on a topic of their choice, a group of Bronxville High School freshmen and sophomores were named winners in one of several categories at the Bronxville History Day Competition on Feb. 7. Their authentic work focused on this year’s theme of “Turning Points in History.”

“I am so proud of all of the students,” said teacher Dana Landesman, who oversees the program, adding that it was a difficult task to decide who will move forward because of the students’ incredible work. “They put forth amazing projects as a culmination for five months of dedicated research.”

Landesman said she was grateful to the history department, including Chris Doyle, Eva Gambino, Steve Klurfeld, Martin Patmos and Christina Reidel, for working tirelessly to support and motivate students to produce outstanding work, as well as the high school faculty and administration for judging the projects and providing feedback to the students during the competition.

As a result of their outstanding work, the students have advanced to the 2024 Lower Hudson Valley History Day Competition, which will be held at St. Thomas Aquinas College on March 16. At the regional competition, they will be interviewed by professors and scholars and articulate what they’ve discovered through their historical research, which is displayed in either paper, website, documentary, performance or exhibit. Winners in that competition will advance to the state competition and ultimately to the national finals.

Congratulations to the following students who have advanced to the regional competition in these categories:



  • Maya Mincak – first place (tie).
  • Sebastian Jew – first place (tie).
  • Andrew Gay – third place.
  • Xavier Reilly – honorable mention.


Documentary (Individual)

  • Charlie Greenfield – first place.
  • Emma Yeon – second place.
  • Peyton Gallo – third place.
  • Mustafa Khizar – honorable mention.


Documentary (Group)

  • Matteo Del Prete, Lucas Gonzalez, Cooper Keating, Leo Poggi and Kai Schubert – first place.
  • Thomas Freeman, Nicholas Gonda, Simon Leka, John Shah and Fletcher van Tienhoven – second place.
  • Anette Dani, Annie Marshall and Charlotte Murray – third place.
  • Brian Formato, Quinn Hershberg and Patrick Kenny – honorable mention.


Website (Individual)

  • Elizabeth Barnes – first place.
  • Faith Belke – second place.
  • Charlotte O’Friel – third place.
  • Charlotte Davis – honorable mention.


Website (Group)

  • Katelyn Brogan, Molly Clark and Katie Fezza – first place.
  • Rishaan Brainch and Andre Kahraman – second place.
  • Dimitri Kedas and Thomas Ruhanen – third place.
  • Diana McEnroe and Ellie Fahy – honorable mention.


Individual Exhibit (Individual)

  • Travis Hamerling – first place.
  • Eva Mihova – second place.
  • Emerson Dennis – third place.
  • Virginia Hail – honorable mention.


Exhibit (Group)

  • Caroline Hardart, Louise Jacobs and Virginia Shah – first place.
  • Kara Kochansky and Finlay Rowan – second place.
  • Peyton Levine and Isabel Yeon – third place.
  • Jacintha Onslow and Jack Colangelo – honorable mention.